WCAG 2.0 & Section 508 Accessibility Experts for Minnesota and Federal Government Agencies

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and, if the government entities receive Federal funding, the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, generally require that state and local government agencies provide qualified individuals with disabilities equal access to their programs, services, or activities. In 2010, the Department of Justice (DOJ) established the ADA Standards for Accessible Design, which required all electronic and information technology by accessible to people with disabilities. Many people with disabilities use “assistive technology” to enable them to use computers and access the Internet. Blind people who cannot see computer monitors may use screen readers – devices that speak the text that would normally appear on a monitor. People who have difficulty using a computer mouse can use voice recognition software to control their computers with verbal commands. People with other types of disabilities may use still other kinds of assistive technology.

What is W3C?

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) sets the main international standards for the Internet and its accessibility. Most W3C work revolves around the standardization of web technologies, such as HTML, XML, CSS, etc. They follow processes that promote the development of high-quality standards and recommendations based on the consensus of their membership, team and public.

What is WCAG 2.0?

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) was developed through the W3C process to provide a single shared standard for web content accessibility that meets the needs of individuals, organizations, and governments internationally. WCAG 2.0 is a most updated technical standard with 12 guidelines that are organized under 4 principles: perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust. For each guideline, there are testable success criteria, which are at three levels: A (must support), AA (should support), and AAA (may support).

What is Section 508?

The US Rehabilitation Act of 1973 was amended in 1986 and again in 1998 to include all information technology, including computer hardware, software and documentation. These amendments, known as Section 508, also created enforcement measures to mandate compliance for websites, documents, and applications developed with US Federal funding or for US government agencies.

Contact us today to see if your website and electronic documents, including online videos, are compliant with WCAG 2.0 and Section 508 accessibility standards.


Ensuring State and Local Government Websites, Electronic Documents, and Online Videos are Accessible to People with Disabilities!


Audit Review

Audit Review

An accessibility audit and review is an evaluation of how well your website and supporting online files and videos are meeting the needs of web users with disabilities.



When your website, online document or video is not sufficiently accessible for persons living with disabilities, remediation work is the next step to meet or exceed accessibility standards.



When remediation is complete, we test again ensure we achieved the appropriate compliance level and can a compliance statement to your website or documents.


Accessibility Examples from Nighthawk Marketing

Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State - Website Designed by Nighthawk Marketing
Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings - Website Designed by Nighthawk Marketing
Northfield Hospital & Clinics - Website Designed by Nighthawk Marketing